The Colbert Report: Comedy in HD

It was only right to start the trip off with a bang. Tonight 7 students and 2 faculty from the department went to the taping of The Colbert Report. Of course, we were not the only special visitors in the audience. The Swedish music group, Movits (previous guests of The Colbert Report) were also hanging out in the backstage VIP section before the show began.

Denise, Nataliya, and Hannah backstage

Oh, and did I mention Morgan Freeman was the special guest?!

As usual, Stephen Colbert (the character, not the man) unapologetically extracted the truthiness out of his guest and each news item he chose to discuss on his show. Highlights included Harry Reid’s “negro” problem, community banking vs. big banking, and the expiration of the estate tax. In fact, Colbert managed to simultaneously warn the elderly not to die in 2010 AND subtly encourage their gold digging heirs to be crafty!

It seems that since last year the show’s set has upgraded along with people’s televisions sets. The Colbert Report is now in its second week taping on a new HD-friendly set. Stephen’s studio now sports digital panels and improved patriotic lighting. See for yourself:

Being so close caused students to take note of interesting details on Colbert’s set. Fourth year Hannah Chipman especially liked the framed photograph of Hugh Laurie on his shelf. I personally liked the Tom Clancy novels displayed under a “non-fiction” sign.

Watching the Colbert Report allowed us to see political parody in action. This genre has played a huge role in our generation’s perception of the news and, as we’ve learned in the classroom, it sometimes watchdogs serious sources. Today Colbert comically pointed out that Bank of America is advertising on the Huffington Post, the same blog urging readers to move their money out of big banks and into community banks.

3rd year Media Studies Majors enjoying the Report (re- POUR)

Tomorrow ten more media studies majors will watch The Colbert Report live and on Thursday afternoon our entire group will have the opportunity to sit down with Stephen Colbert (the man, not the character). Tomorrow we will also be visiting Vanity Fair and Canoe VenturesMake sure to check the blog for more updates as they come!

This entry was posted in 2010 NYC Trip. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The Colbert Report: Comedy in HD

  1. there are very few talented actors that is as versatile as morgan freeman -~;

  2. glad to be one of several visitants on this awing internet site : D.

  3. My brother suggested I might like this website. He used to be entirely right. This put up actually made my day. You cann’t consider simply how so much time I had spent for this information! Thanks!

  4. you are really a good webmaster. The web site loading speed is incredible. It kind of feels that you are doing any distinctive trick. Also, The contents are masterwork. you’ve done a fantastic task on this subject!

  5. Someone essentially help to make critically articles I’d state. That is the first time I frequented your web page and thus far? I surprised with the analysis you made to make this particular put up amazing. Great process!

  6. I don’t even understand how I stopped up here, but I assumed this put up was great. I don’t know who you might be but definitely you are going to a well-known blogger in case you are not already. Cheers!

  7. That is very interesting, You’re an excessively skilled blogger. I have joined your rss feed and stay up for seeking extra of your great post. Additionally, I have shared your website in my social networks

  8. You really make it seem really easy together with your presentation however I find this matter to be really one thing that I feel I’d by no means understand. It seems too complicated and very huge for me. I am taking a look ahead on your subsequent put up, I will attempt to get the hang of it!

  9. Great goods from you, man. I have understand your stuff previous to and you’re just too great. I really like what you have acquired here, really like what you’re stating and the way in which you say it. You make it enjoyable and you still take care of to keep it wise. I cant wait to read much more from you. This is actually a terrific web site.

Leave a Reply

