Not so simple

Today we had the pleasure of visiting Real Simple Magazine at the Time-Life Building. The editor and chief of the magazine, Kristen Van Ogtrop, spoke to us about the magazine, answered questions about the magazine publishing industry and gave us a tour of Real Simple.

Though I was not originally interested in the magazine industry, this trip made me reconsider. The young employees who Kristen introduced us to were incredibly enthusiastic about their job and were so passionate about the magazine. Additionally, many of them had worked at other magazines or other media industries. For me it was a learning experience.

Other highlights of the trip included a little bit of networking and a slightly nerdy but incredibly intriguing discussion of the consequences of the digital age in the industry. Lauren Bicknell a fellow third year major was able to talk to an Assistant Art Director named Jenika. Lauren is really interested in the design aspect of media so this was a great opportunity for her. I think everyone had a great time though and I have a feeling many of us are now considering an internship or job in this field.

Below is a link to the Real Simple Magazine website. Definitely check it out or grab a copy if you see it on your nearest newsstand. There are some great recipes, especially if you’re a vegetarian like me.

http://www.realsimple.com/

About dclucky

Studying Media Studies and Spanish at the University of Virginia
This entry was posted in 2011 NYC Trip. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Not so simple

  1. Lauren Bicknell says:

    It’s true! I loved seeing Real Simple today. As the only real print media source on the agenda for our trip, this was the place I was looking forward to visiting most, and it definitely didn’t disappoint. I have a friend who’s interning at Lucky Magazine now, and she told me that she hates it because everyone there is so angry and stressed and unfriendly, and hearing that made me really reconsider ever coming to NY to do design things. The meeting at Real Simple today, however, completely reversed my conception of the magazine industry back to the more bright and shiny view I had before talking to my friend. I was so impressed by how everyone there seemed to genuinely know and like working with one another, and it was such a great, creative-feeling atmosphere. Everyone there seemed to be truly passionate about each aspect of their work at the magazine, and the environment seemed to be one that really rewarded that passion. I talked to Julee, the fashion editor/blogger, who told me that Kristin (the editor in chief) really does know everyone who works in the office, from the interns to the editors, which again is really impressive, especially at a big time magazine. The whole visit was really fun and a great opportunity for me (and if other people had their eyes opened to the awesomeness that is the magazine industry, for them too!)

Leave a Reply

